Angelika Hiesel

Wintersports
Date of birth
21st June 1972
 
Home Mountain
St.Anton am Arlberg, AUT
 
Genre of skiing
Freeride
How and when did you start skiing, how has it evolved ever since and what got you into freeskiing?
I started skiing with my brothers when I was around 4 years old. We did not go to a ski area, we had to make our own piste first, so that way we only got one run in a day :)
I stopped skiing when I was a teenager, but started again with 20. Then I started to really love it. After a few years as a skibum, I did all my ski instructors exams and finally became a ski guide.
After all my exams I started to compete in Europe in all the Freeride Comps and then I went to New Zealand for a season. There I won my first comp and from that on I was skiing and filming around the world….very lucky!

Who were/are your idols on and off the hill?
Sverre Lilleqvist 

What does skiing mean to you personally?
I love to be outdoors and I love to ski! I respect nature as it is and I love to play with what nature has to offer!  

What were your 3 biggest accomplishments on hill and why?
Winning my first competition in New Zealand because there were so many good female skiers in the comp.
Going Heli Skiing in Alaska - a dream for all Freeriders :)
Passing my Skiguide exam so I could open my own skischool.

What aspect of skiing thrills you the most? (in skiing in general)
Off piste skiing and Freeriding gives me such a good feeling. There are no gates, which tells you where you have to go, you can choose by yourself…

In what conditions and what terrain do enjoy riding the most?
Off course untracked off piste skiing, skiing in heavy snowfall in the trees and if conditions are right, also very steep skiing is great.

Any activities that aren’t ski related?
Biking, traveling, looking after our little daughter :)

How do you manage to combine family/ friends and job?
Normally my husband Stefan and I manage quite well that we both get enough skiing time. And
luckily my parents are also very good and they look after our daughter whenever Stefan or Kindergarten doesn’t cover my working hours. 

Please answer, if possible, with one word only. 
Trick/Move: cliff jumps
Band: Alanis Morisette
Movie: Lord of the rings
Book: Sakrileg
Drink: Black current juice with water
Food: Mild Curries
Country: Austria
Resort/Place to ski: St. Anton am Arlberg, Austria
Car: any 4WD- I live far up the mountain

What do you like about SCOTT? 
Of course their products and how good they work together with us all.

What are your favorite SCOTT products? 
Scott Roam helmet
Scott Fix Goggles and their great sunnies

What SCOTT products are you using this year? 
Vest: W’s Back Protector X-Active
Helmet: Roam 
Bag: Backbag Air 15 Lady
Goggles: Fix
Poles: Team Issue

Where would you like to see yourself in 5 years? 
Doing Freeride Camps, preferable for women and kids through my skischool.

What sponsors do you ride for besides SCOTT?
Nordica Skis, Peak Performance clothing, Level gloves 

People you feel you need to thank: 
My husband Stefan, my daughter Jana and my whole family for helping me so that I’m able to do what I like most :)

What’s playing on your iPod right now?
“Haus am See” von Peter Fox

Produits associés

Contenu associé

news