We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to browse this website, you agree to their use. To find out more about our cookies, please  click here


05 August 2013

Second GP win this season for Clement Desalle

Five months after his triumph during the opening round of the MX1 World Championship in Qatar, Clement Desalle got another GP win in Czech Republic. The Belgian rider scored a double win, while Dutch teenager Jeffrey Herlings claimed his second MX2 World title.


Loket is a traditional venue for the Motocross World Championship, and one week after his second position in Germany Clement Desalle confirmed his great shape as he got his first double win this season. The Belgian leader of the factory Suzuki team led both races to secure even more his runner up position in the standings. "I'm really happy about my riding today. I could make some cool lines and fast lap-times that allowed me to make a gap in both motos. The gap allowed me to relax and I could control it until the end. It was a really strong day for me. I didn't have too much pressure because I go to the start line to do the best I can, like at every GP, with many second and third positions I am happy to finally win and with both motos is really good," said a delighted Clement.

Winner of its fourteenth consecutive MX2 Grand Prix, Jeffrey Herlings claimed his second World title, even if there are three more GP’s to go. The Dutch rider beats French Christophe Charlier and Russian Alexander Tonkov, while Alessandro Lupino and Jordi Tixier just missed the podium for a few points. Second of the opening race Lupino had to recover from a crash in the second heat, while Tixier secured strong points on a track that he never enjoyed. The series will make a break, as the next round will take place in Bastogne (Belgium) on August 18th.

Classification MX1
1.Desalle (BEL, Suzuki)
2.Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki)
3.Bobryshev (RUS, Honda)
4.De Dycker (BEL, KTM)
5.Cairoli (ITA, KTM)
6.Searle (GBR, Kawasaki)
7.Philippaerts (ITA, Honda)
8.Van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki)
9.Simpson (GBR, Yamaha)
10.Leok (EST, TM)

Standings MX1
1.Cairoli, 643
2.Desalle, 553
3.De Dycker, 514
4.Paulin, 465
5.Strijbos, 437
6.Searle, 404

Classification MX2
1.Herlings (NED, KTM)
2.Charlier (FRA, Yamaha)
3.Tonkov (RUS, Honda)
4.Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki)
5.Tixier (FRA, KTM)
6.Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki)
7.Nicholls (GBR, KTM)
8.Petrov (BUL, Yamaha)
9.Butron (ESP, KTM)
10.Ferris (AUS, Yamaha)

Standings MX2
1.Herlings, 692
2.Tixier, 515
3.Butron, 436
4.Charlier, 405
5.Coldenhoff, 377