text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
 We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to browse this website, you agree to their use. To find out more about our cookies, please  click here


19 September 2011
Source from Pascal Haudiquert Thirty six National teams entered the event in Saint Jean d’Angely, and an enthusiastic crowd attends the biggest Motocross event of the planet. Chad Reed, Gautier Paulin and Ryan Villopoto won one race each in St Jean, but at the Nations the goal is to have a strong team of three riders and once more USA lines up a great selection. Teammate of Ryan Dungey and Ryan Villopoto, Blake Baggett was the newcomer in this event, and for his first visit to Europe he struggled a little bit with the track conditions. But he never gave up offering his team the overall win despite a strong pressure from team France. “My Saturday with a win in my qualifying race was definitively better than my Sunday, but it’s a team race and both Ryans did well. We were a good team. I tried to salvage everything I could and put my head down to finish both races. The first moto was super muddy and the bike was really heavy; I lost the front wheel and crashed on an uphill. Then I had to take of my goggles, and it was hard. The second one I got a decent start behind Ryan; I took the same lines as him but came on a lapped rider, made a mistake and went in the fences. This was by far the most difficult track I ever raced” said Blake. Team France, who was leading the classification before the last race, finished runner up thanks to the great performance of Gautier Paulin who won the second heat; Christophe Pourcel was unlucky with a tyre problem in the last race, but France was strong enough to beat team Australia who secured his first ever podium at the Nations. A great honor for Brett Metcalfe and Matt Moss, members of the Australian selection alongside Chad Reed. RESULTS MOTOCROSS OF NATIONS RACE ONE, MX2 and MX1 : 1.Chad Reed (AUS, Honda); 2.Ken Roczen (GER, KTM) ; 3.Ryan Dungey (USA, Suzuki) ; 4.Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki) ; 5.Tyla Rattray (AFS, Kawasaki)…….7.Jonathan Barragan (SPA, Kawasaki)….9.Dean Wilson (GBR, Kawasaki)… 11.Christophe Pourcel (FRA, Kawasaki)….17.Blake Baggett (USA, Kawasaki) ; etc… RACE TWO, MX2 and Open : 1.Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha) ; 2.Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM) ; 3.Ryan Villopoto (USA, Kawasaki) ; 4.Ken Roczen ; 5.Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki); 6.Gareth Swanepoel (AFS, Yamaha); 7.Brett Metcalfe (AUS, Suzuki)…..10.Arnaud Tonus (SUI, Yamaha)….17.Blake Baggett ; etc… RACE THREE , MX1 and Open : 1.Ryan Villopoto ; 2.Ryan Dungey ; 3.Tyla Rattray ; 4.Tommy Searle ; 5.Davide Guarneri…8.Gautier Paulin…10. Brett Metcalfe….14.Jonathan Barragan; etc…. TEAM RESULTS: 1.USA (Baggett, Dungey, Villopoto), 26; 2.France (Musquin, Pourcel, Paulin), 39; 3.Australia (Moss, Reed, Metcalfe), 44; 4.Great Britain (Wilson, Searle, Anderson), 46; 5.Belgium (Roelants, Van Daele, Strijbos), 54; 6.South Africa (Terreblanche, Rattray, Swanepoel), 56; 7.Germany (Roczen, Siegl, Schiffer), 68; 8.Spain (Butron, Barragan, Campano), 68; 9.Netherlands (Bastemeijer, Brakke, Herlings), 81; 10.Estonia (Ratsep, Leok, Krestinov), 86; etc….