text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation
 We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to browse this website, you agree to their use. To find out more about our cookies, please  click here


21 May 2013

Podium for Desalle and Tixier

Third and last ‘oversea’ Grand Prix this season, the Brazilian round of the FIM Motocross World Championship has been dominated by the factory KTM riders, as both Jeffrey Herlings and Antonio Cairoli claimed another win. Strong second place for Clement Desalle in the MX1 class, and third position in the MX2 for Jordi Tixier.

Home of the Brazilian GP since last year, Beto Carrero is a nice location but once more the weather was not as good as expected and some rain in the night made the track rougher and more slippery for the riders. Third in the MX1 race, Clement Desalle got another third position in the super finale and finished second of the event. "After the big crash in Portugal I couldn't really train like I wanted in the week and I could feel it this weekend. It is really positive to get up here on the podium because my feeling was not that perfect on the track, especially in the second moto where the weather and conditions seemed to get to me a little bit. I felt that the track was short for a 450. It was not that tricky because the speed wasn't so high but there were a lot of jumps and waves and other stuff. The ground was good and I could control the power of the bike with plenty of traction so that was a positive thing. We go to America now and this will be a different kind of training and hopefully a good experience" said Clement who will race the next two rounds of the AMA Nationals.

Jeffrey Herlings the MX2 class, even if he was not the best MX2 rider in the Super final; after a bad start the Dutch rider came back in second position behind Jose Butron, who finished runner up followed by Jordi Tixier.


Classification MX1
1.Cairoli (ITA, KTM)
2.Desalle (BEL, Suzuki)
3.Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki)
4.Nagl (GER, Honda)
5.Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki)
6.Van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki)
7.De Dycker (BEL, KTM)
8.Searle (GBR, Kawasaki)
9.Roelants (BEL, Yamaha)
10.Simpson (GBR, TM)

Classification MX2:
1.Herlings (NED, KTM)
2.Butron (SPA, KTM)
3.Tixier (FRA, KTM)
4.Coldenhoff (NED, KTM)
5.Ferris (AUS, Yamaha)
6.Charlier (FRA, Yamaha)
7.Pocock (GBR, Yamaha)
8.Lupino (ITA, Kawasaki)
9.Tonkov (RUS, Honda)
10.Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki)