We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. By continuing to browse this website, you agree to their use. To find out more about our cookies, please  click here


08 July 2013

Podiums for Desalle and Tixier.

Clement Desalle and Jordi Tixier scored another podium this weekend during the Grand Prix of Latvia, as both finished third of their respective class in Kegums.


The podium in Latvia was exactly the same than in Sweden last week, as the factory KTM riders dominates the race. But Antonio Cairoli had to share the heat wins with Ken de Dycker, collecting the 61st Grand Prix win of his career. Twice third, Clement Desalle (Suzuki) is closing the gap in the series with Paulin who is runner up. "I focussed hard on my riding today and could finish third, the two guys in front were a little bit faster. My start was better in the second moto and I pushed to get into third but Tony and Ken had a little gap and it was difficult to come back. I saw my speed was good and I was aware that a few guys were catching me in the last 10 minutes but I stayed concentrating on the lines and keeping consistent. Finishing third on the podium is pretty good but I'm still a bit disappointed that it cannot be better and I am not winning at the moment," explained the Belgian rider.

Fourth and second in the MX2 class, Jordi Tixier (KTM) finished third of the GP behind his teammate Jeffrey Herlings and Spaniard Jose Butron (KTM). Winner of all the GP’s so far, Herlings is strongly leading the series while Tixier is runner-up. “I got a good start in the first moto and I was second behind Jeffrey. I had a good speed because I saw the lap times and I had the fastest lap time of the race. But then I hit a big bump and lost a few places and had to fight back to catch up. I didn’t get a good start in the second moto but after five minutes I was up to second. I had some crashes today but I am happy about finishing third overall” said Jordi.


Italian Alessandro Lupino (Kawasaki) was second of the second heat when he crashed and retired.

Classification MX1
1.Cairoli (ITA, KTM)
2.De Dycker (BEL, KTM)
3.Desalle (BEL, Suzuki)
4.Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki)
5.Van Horebeek (BEL, Kawasaki)
6.Searle (GBR, Kawasaki)
7.Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki)
8.Gonçalves (POR, KTM)
9.Nagl (ALL, Honda)
10.Roelants (BEL, Yamaha)

Standings MX1
1.Cairoli, 514
2.Paulin, 432
3.Desalle, 414
4.De Dycker, 406
5.Strijbos, 327
6.Searle, 318

Classification MX2
1.Herlings (NED, KTM)
2.Butron (SPA, KTM)
3.Tixier (FRA, KTM)
4.Petrov (BUL, Yamaha)
5.Febvre (FRA, KTM)
6.Ferrandis (FRA, Kawasaki)
7.Coldenhoff (NED, KTM)
8.Nicholls (GBR, KTM)
9.Kullas (FIN, KTM)
10.Clermont (FRA, Kawasaki)

Standings MX2
1.Herlings, 542
2.Tixier, 403
3.Butron, 353
4.Charlier, 322
5.Coldenhoff, 304