text.skipToContent text.skipToNavigation

Alia Cardinale Villalobos

I was born in San Carlos , Costa Rica in 1985. I started swimming at age of 6, but when I was 12 the triathlon team of my town asked to me if I wanted to try to do a triathlon for the national games, I just said yes because I didn’t want to swim all the time, at the beginning I was very bad because I was afraid on the bike all the time, but it was really fun so a few months later I quit my swim team and joined the triathlon club.

In 2008 I decided to go and live in Montpellier, France, I could not speak a word of French but I joined a first division team and I made the grand prix for 4 seasons, I learned a lot during that time, it was a big step for me and I also finished my university studies.

We don’t train a lot of hours but the trainings are really specifics and with a lot of intervals, also to train in Costa Rica is hard because of the topography, we have to up all the time,  I train between 16-20 hours my week, two sports by day.

Now I am living in Costa Rica and making the ITU circuit.

Career highlights:

Several times National Champion.

1st Place Pan American Cup Chile 2012.

2nd  Place Pan American Cup Valparaiso, Chile 2012

11th World Cup Edmonton 2012

4th Place World Cup Guatapé, Colombia 2012

14th World Cup, Cancun 2012

Two  3rd places in Panamerican Cups 2011

Rider's Talk

Year of birth: 25 November 1985

Height: 160cm

Weight: 50kg

Hometown: San Carlos Costa Rica

Hobbies: go to the movies, shopping, learn languages, to travel.

Favorite foods: sea food

Favorite Training base(s): Montpellier, France